RSS Feed

Welcome 2014!

As the festive season draws to a close, I would like to share with you some photographs taken over the past month or so in Budapest. Advent and Christmas are a very special time in this part of Europe and would not be complete without a mug of glühwein (mulled red wine, often with extra fortification added, such as pálinka) as you stroll around the outdoor market, enjoying the handmade crafts on display and live music. We were fortunate to have been invited to a St. Lucia celebration held by the Swedish community, which included a vocal performance of traditional music.

St. Lucia celebration

St. Lucia celebration

Enjoy this taste of the festivities!

IMG_1872

IMG_1899

Kurtoskalacs - a spiral pastry cooked over hot coals, then brushed with butter and cinnamon sugar, nuts, or chocolate

Kurtoskalacs – a spiral pastry cooked over hot coals, then brushed with butter and cinnamon sugar, nuts, or chocolate

IMG_1883

IMG_1882

IMG_1878

IMG_1879

IMG_1884

New Year’s Eve concluded with several hours of fireworks. Fortunately, the fog that had been hovering for days lifted for our viewing enjoyment. I wish you and yours a happy start to the new year!

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

2 responses »

  1. Great pictures! I still need to come back since I didn’t ever get my kurtoskalacs! Happy new year to you both. HLS&J!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

