RSS Feed

Bad Blogger!

Posted on

Yeah, I know. It has been months. I’ve thought about writing, honest I have. There are even two drafts written about trips to Rome and Prague. But then winter intervened. Not just “winter”, but the gray, icky, wet winter that just wouldn’t end. Even the SAD lamp wasn’t helping to pull me out of my funk. And then I just got busy.

So what have I been up to lately? Spinning up a storm. The annual Tour de Fleece competition on Ravelry coincides with the Tour de France, so we’ve only just finished that a couple of weeks ago. I did lots of spinning. Maybe not as much as last year, but still quite a bit. This is the product of my spinning wheels:
IMG_1447

My spindles were also pretty busy.

IMG_1443

IMG_1444I’ve made several pairs of socks, a shawl to give to a friend who visited me, and I have both a sweater and another pair of socks in progress. I’ve read several novels and work out at the gym at least three times a week. Phew! I’ve been busier than I thought.

We bought new bikes a little over a month ago. My old one was just giving me too many problems, despite having been to the repair guy more than once. Supposedly an 18 speed, it only would shift into 6. And the frame was a little off. A teenager once borrowed it without telling me and was in an accident. Sigh. So I bought a lovely new Trek bicycle, a hybrid model. So far, I’ve put almost 200 km on it….would be more, but as I tend to overdo things in the gym, pain gets in the way. It isn’t flat here, by any means. We are working up to much longer and more frequent outings….and we’ve sealed the deal by booking a cycling holiday in Provence in late September. The tour company says that you needn’t be über-fit, but I have a fear of showing up and being the slow-poke of the group. That would be horrible!

We are in the middle of a heat wave here, so I’ll raise my glass of water to all my faithful readers who have come to check up on me! I’ll get back at those drafts and see what lovely photos of our trips I can put out there for your enjoyment.

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

6 responses »

  1. I like your Bossie herd!

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous wool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

