RSS Feed

Le Tour de….Fluff?

Posted on

The Tour de France wrapped up its three weeks of endurance cycling on Sunday. For those of you outside the fibery world of Ravelry, you may not know that they hold a concurrent event called the Tour de Fleece, in which spinners pick up their spindles or sit at the wheel and endeavour to accomplish self-determined goals. Spinning…cycling….get it?

This is the third year I have participated and the most productive. The first time around coincided with the acquisition of my first spinning wheel, so I spent the time learning how to use it. We moved last year right at the beginning of the Tour, so my ability to get much accomplished was compromised. Not so for 2012! I have an unfortunate habit of biting off more than I can chew. In other words, my goals are typically out of reach, even if the planets should align and nothing else happens in my life. I thought that might be the case, but I was wrong. Ha! It happens. Understandable, since I signed up for a total of 13 teams! Just posting photos was going to be time-consuming. What was I thinking? Fortunately for my sanity, projects can count for more than one team. I took advantage of this overlap. Yes, indeed.

So without further ado, let me show you what I’ve been up to. First up, a skein of Fat Cat Knits superwash merino, bamboo, and nylon. I intended it to be sock yarn thin, but my yardage is a little short. It might make a nice scarf for a Christmas gift, maybe?

Here are two yarns from Crown Mountain Farms fibre. The gray is from the new line of semi-solids, which total 94 colours. Klaus kindly donated 4 oz. to each member of the team in our choice of colour. As usual, I had a terrible time making up my mind.

The other is a lovely, bouncy yarn, perfect for a winter hat. It was a joy to spin.

There were also spindles involved in the Tour. You wouldn’t want me to get repetitive stress injuries, would you? These four support spindles show some sample yarns in progress. I’m still learning the techniques, so my productivity is not great. However, it was fun and very portable. I enjoyed taking the spindles out to the patio during the relative coolness of the evenings.

The above are all small projects. Yes, there was a large one. I plan to write a separate post about it because it was just so darned much fun, but I’ll show you the finished yarns here.

Experimentation!!!

This is just over 1000 yards of squishy loveliness! Enough, I hope, to make an actual sweater. Time will tell.

Now that the TDF is over, I’m not quite sure what to do with myself. Don’t be concerned. It won’t last.

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

3 responses »

  1. Gorgeous! I have a feeling you will be able to find something to do. 😉 Well done!

    Reply
  2. Wow. I still admire – and covet – your spindle abilities. Of course, I haven’t touched my wheel in months… I need to change that very soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

