RSS Feed

‘Tis the Season

Posted on

Lest you think I’ve lost my marbles, I’m referring to that quaint military tradition of “posting season”. This is the time of year when assignments come to an end and boxes are packed to head to a new destination, a new job in a new place. Consequently, it is also the high social season of the year, with many receptions and parties held to bid farewell to those bound for new adventures. This year is no different, although we don’t happen to be moving this time around.

For George and I, the big change this year is that we aren’t at home in Canada, so new rules apply. Usually we are invited to attend a farewell party, possibly two. Okay, I’m good with that. We seem to have become part of the defence attaché community here by default, since the Canadian component was moved to Belgrade last year, and it is much larger than I ever would have imagined. The invitations just keep on arriving! In the past eleven days, we have attended four such receptions/parties. Also, two connected with national or regional celebrations (US Independence Day and the Calgary Stampede), though I have to say that we were disappointed that Canada Day celebrations were suspended due to the recent budget-cutting measures of the Canadian government. There are still three receptions to come in the next week or so.

Yes, this has necessitated shopping for new clothes. Much of what I own is ill-suited to these sort of functions, particularly in temperatures exceeding 35 C. Except for the Independence Day event, which had a dress code of jeans and cowboy boots! That I can do! And keep cooler than this poor fellow, all done up for the occasion:

I could get used to having a social life.

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

One response »

  1. Oh neat! I’m glad you’re having fun. I love to dress up… as long as I have plenty of time in my workout attire and/or jeans.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

