RSS Feed

Guerrilla Antics

Posted on

I’ve been reading reports online about yarn-bombing, knitters taking their knitting to the streets and using it as installation art in public places. Mostly in the United States, but this has also been occurring in Canada and Great Britain. Budapest isn’t a place that I expected to find it. After all, there is little evidence of a fibre arts tradition here. I’ve yet to find a yarn shop, despite searching, and I had the devil of a time locating a dealer to look at looms (more on that in a later post). So, on my way to the gym this morning, I was pleasantly surprised to see this:

 

Hey, is that knitting on there?

Yes, it is pouring rain and I’m in a hurry to catch the metro, but I have to stop for a closer look.

Wow! Someone has been busy.

I love it! This is outside a very busy metro station on the Buda side of the Danube, where numerous bus and tram routes cross paths. I’m astonished. Usually this is a hang-out for some of the less desirable elements and they are nowhere to be seen. There are tags with words:

Pretties the place up, don’t you think?

“Guerrilla Knitting 2012” in both English and Hungarian. Wonder where else this will crop up? Must keep my eyes peeled. Art shows up in the strangest places.

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

2 responses »

  1. Neato!! A live and in person yarn bombing sighting! There’s fibery goodness hope yet!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

