RSS Feed

Busy, busy

Posted on

The past two weeks have been insanely busy. I don’t know that I’m trying to do any more than usual, but it sure feels that way. This week had two special art seminars, one on drawing and the other on painting, but they didn’t take any more time that my classes have otherwise. The structure was just a little less formal. And I was the only student for drawing. Which is perfectly okay by me – I quite enjoyed having a one-on-one with the instructor, even if it did take my out of my comfort zone. Drawing the same still life and portraying different emotions with line is something I’d never even considered before and it was an interesting exercise.

Drawing to Emotions

The other exercise I did was also new to me – using cut pieces of fabric to draw. Very different and I quite liked the outcome. I may play with this technique in future.

Drawing with Fabric

There has also been knitting and spinning. Two, yes two, projects are finished….finally! These were unbelievably boring. It is my own fault. I know that I need a challenge in my knitting or I end up putting it down and moving on to something else, just to keep my brain awake. So, I have a pair of socks for my hubby and a cute little dress to send off to my youngest granddaughter. Unfortunately, although the dress pattern is adorable, it is also way off in its yarn requirements. Since I had planned to make another one for her sister, this fouls up my plans. Unless I get creative, I won’t have enough yarn. Sigh. This sort of thing has happened to me quite a lot lately with independent designer patterns. There is a cardigan in the works, for me, but since I haven’t gotten very far on it, I’ll talk about it later.

As usual, I have several spinning projects on the go. But I think I’ll tell you all about them another day.

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

4 responses »

  1. Love all of it. I can’t even draw a decent stick figure, but that drawing with fabric intrigues me, as does the girl dress. To Ravelry!!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Chan. The thing with the fabric is that you have to really simplify. Otherwise you just get lost in the details. Harder than it looks.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. Ana will look adorable in that dress. Hope you get pictures.
    The fabric drawing looks really interesting… I’ve done that kind of thing with collage papers but not thought of using fabric. You could stitch them down onto your paper… make another textural element. Could be really fun!

    Reply
    • Thanks. I hope I get some pictures too!

      Yeah, stitching would be interesting, but on better paper. This is just printer paper, so it isn’t substantial enough. Working with a pile of fabric was interesting, especially when looking for value. Then I had the idea to use the other side too.

      I hope you’re spending today making some art. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

