RSS Feed

One year gone….

Posted on

One year ago this week, we were in Budapest on our house hunting trip. How fast the time has flown! As with most anniversaries, one pauses to take stock of the passage of time. This is no different. Life has changed so much during this past year. First, I am living in a country that at times seems to be the polar opposite of Canada, yet has many similar elements. The language is an incredibly difficult one. I would be lying if I told you that I was comfortable living in a place where I have so much difficulty communicating. But I’m managing. Without the internet, I’m not so sure I would be doing as well. Between email, forums, Skype, and the “live” relationships I’ve established here, I actually have more of a social life than I’ve had in years. Maybe even decades. Wow.

A quick, off the top of my head, random list of things I like about living in Budapest:

  1. Winter lasts all of two weeks. Summer begins in April. Enough said – I’m Canadian.
  2. An incredible sense of history, everywhere.
  3. The way the city sights along the Danube are lit up every night, all year. One day I’m actually going to get a decent photograph.
  4. The friendliness of our counterparts from different countries. We were sought out and invited into their social circle and included in all sorts of fun activities.
  5. Budapest’s summer drink is lemonade. It is amazing how many delicious variations they’ve come up with.
  6. Architectural details. I swear that I don’t actually watch where I’m going because I’m too busy looking up. Yes, I have bruises.
  7. Cell phone rates are cheap. So I use my phone instead of just carrying it around with me.
  8. The best tomatoes on the planet, except home-grown.
  9. This is the city of festivals. I mean, where else can you possibly find a bread festival? This weekend is the pálinka festival. I’m not going. Pálinka is not on my list of favourite things about Budapest. I am, however, counting the days until the wine festival.
  10. Café culture is booming here. I love to sit outdoors with a coffee, enjoy the weather and people-watch at this time of year. Though the cafés are no less busy during the off-season.
  11. I share a house with my husband. After a lengthy deployment, followed by a year of language courses out of town, we are living together again. We are referred to as the honeymooners.
  12. I can take art classes. They’re affordable and fun. I don’t know if the ones local to me at home are fun because I couldn’t possibly afford to enroll.
  13. New Year’s is celebrated with fireworks. The unbelievable display lasted for two hours, at least, beginning at midnight.
  14. The markets. Not just the fabulous food markets, though those are amazing. But the outdoor stands that pop up fairly frequently in the city core. They sell everything from food to soap, handicrafts to pálinka or mulled wine.
  15. The transit system, which is probably the best of any city I have lived in. And it’s cheap.

That’s all I can think of on the fly. Surely I’ve forgotten something important, but I’ll come back to it.

Fisherman’s Bastion

The Central Market, from the fountain

Hungarian Parliament on the Duna

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

8 responses »

  1. Beautiful photos, and that’s a great “like” list!! I am a country girl through and through, but you make me want to add to my “must see” travel wish-list…

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’m a country girl too, more or less, but a taste of the city from time to time is okay. I’m sure I’ll be looking for isolation in a few years….

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. Brilliant!
    great pictures, fantastic summary of budapest… makes me want to go there even more!

    I’ve actually founded a blog community at http://www.walkedthru.com, and we are looking for travel and city blogs that are visually fantastic, interesting and informative. WalkedThru Budapest for example!
    So if you are interested in becoming one of our Travel Walkers – get in touch!

    If not, I’ll be following anyway!

    Regards
    Luke

    Reply
  3. Please tell me… what is Pálinka? Great photos, as always. Lots of things to see when I visit next summer. We’ll do a little plein air painting excursion! I’ll be fun!!!

    Reply
    • LOL, I was wondering if anyone would ask! Pálinka is….well, fire-water. The closest I’ve ever had was the new spirit at the whisky distillery in Scotland. It’ll bring tears to your eyes. It comes in numerous flavours, mostly fruit with or without honey. I can’t tell the difference except the amazing fruit fragrance. Silly me, I actually expected it to taste somewhat fruity.

      Thanks for the compliment on the photos. They were taken with my phone in such blinding sunlight that I could barely see what I was doing. Dumb luck.

      Can’t wait for you to come over!

      Reply
  4. Love the pictures and the list! Happy anniversary (of sorts)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

