RSS Feed

Done!

I finally finished up the spinning on that gorgeous Merino I showed you in the last entry. It was delightful to work with, slipping through my fingers with silky abandon. Following whatever idea popped into my head, I divided the fibre lengthwise into four more-or-less equal parts and spun them as fine as I possibly could, each onto their own bobbin. Mixing up the bobbins, I plied two bobbins of two ply yarn. See?

Fine Two Ply

In order to make the cable work, these plies must have approximately double the regular amount of twist. I used the lace whorl on my wheel for the first time and the smallest pulley (highest ratio). Wow! Can that thing go! After an overnight rest, I twisted the two yarns together in the opposite direction to make a cabled yarn. This is how it looks (apologies for the crappy lighting and extreme close up):

A strand of cabled yarn

Isn’t that a fascinating structure? Cables are incredibly strong due to their opposing levels of twist, which explains their use in ropes and construction (think steel cables on bridges. Yup, the same thing.). The finished skein turned out to be 272 yards (248.7 metres), which is a bit disappointing. However, cabling does produce a dense yarn, so it is heavy for its yardage (4.25 oz/120 g).

The Finished Skein

I am quite enchanted with it. The yarn is soft and squishy and begs to be made into a next-to-skin item. Maybe I can get my sock knitting mojo back?

About sandyjager

When my husband was transferred by the Canadian Forces to Budapest, Hungary, in the summer of 2011, life as I knew it changed. None of my previous experiences prepared me for how different life was going to be. Fortunately, my inability to tolerate boredom means that I have lots of things to keep me busy - knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, fitness and art. I will be sharing my latest exploits here, so stay tuned!

2 responses »

  1. Be still my heart. Makes me really long for Sedona, AZ. I’ve already put in an order for something turquoise with a friend who is going to Mexico next month… I need to remind Mark to give him some $$!!

    Reply
  2. This is just beautiful. I scrolled down thru your blog and have enjoyed the posts :). Keep ’em comin’ please

    Reply

Leave a Reply

